The Cat Collects

Released 26.07.19


Digital download

Available to download at Bandcamp:

About 'The Cat Collects'

The Cat Collects is an 8 track mini-album, featuring tracks written between 2018 and 2019.

There's a statue of a goddess which has been dumped beside a train track in South London, surrounded by a pile of other discarded items. I have passed it on the train pretty much everyday since 2015 and that inspired two of the songs on this album, 'The Same' and 'Guardian of Junk'. The latter is actually assembled from train samples which I recorded whilst passing the statue one time. 'Verdigris Bones' was recorded in one take, I played the piano part and recorded the vocal at the same time as a demo. The plan was to record it again and re-sequence it and add other instruments, but I couldn't quite capture the feeling of that first take, so I just left it as it is.

'The Cat Collects' is about passing from the living world into the spirit world.

'The Living Ones' I wrote immediately after reading 'I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream' by Harlan Ellison, as

I wanted to record the strange mood it had put me in. 'Guests' is a song about Onryō (vengeful spirits) and the knocking sounds in the song are based on a time I had drifted off to sleep very briefly and heard a really loud on my bedroom door. There was no one there but it just felt so loud and real, it woke me back up with a jump. 'The Border' is the crossing between life and death and is also me messing about with my electric violin.

© 2020 Jodie Lowther